Posted on

06.10.09 SB 603 PASSES HOUSE. BRADY BILL EXPANSION ASSIGNED TO SUBCOMMITTEE OF WAYS AND MEANS.

“READILY ACCESSIBLE” BILL PASSES HOUSE. “MENTAL HEALTH ” BILL GOES TO WAYS AND MEANS…

Senate Bill 603, which we requested to define the term “readily accessible” for the purposes of transporting a handgun without a CHL, passed the House today without a single “no” vote.
This is a significant victory in the current political climate and due entirely to your efforts in contacting the Senate Judiciary Chairman.  Because the bill was amended in the House Committee it will require concurrence in the Senate which we fully expect. Thank you for your hard work.

On June 2nd we reported that the HB 2853 had passed out of the Rules Committee and was headed for the House Floor with a subsequent referral to the Ways and Means Committee. Now, by order of the Speaker of the House, the bill will go to Ways and Means first and then to the floor, if it passes out of committee.

The bill has been assigned to the Public Safety Subcommittee. As of June 10th, it has not been scheduled for a hearing.

Contact information for the subcommittee and a sample message follows.
Please note. This is a joint committee. Please address your e-mails to either “Senator” or “Representative.”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

HB 2853 has been assigned to your Ways and Means Subcommittee. This bill was written to guarantee that Oregon would get some Federal dollars by complying with a Federal mandate to turn over mental health records to the FBI. I would strongly urge you to read the Federal legislation before you agree to force Oregon to capitulate to Federal mandates. I think if you do, you will see that the Federal law is complicated, subject to many interpretations, and prone to abuse. Please vote “no” on HB 2853.
Yours,
_______________________________

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Membership:

Sen. Joanne Verger, Co-Chair   sen.joanneverger@state.or.us

Rep. Chip Shields, Co-Chair  rep.chipshields@state.or.us

Sen. Vicki L Walker      sen.vickiwalker@state.or.us

Sen. Doug Whitsett   sen.dougwhitsett@state.or.us

Rep. Jeff Barker  rep.jeffbarker@state.or.us

Rep. Tim Freeman
  rep.timfreeman@state.or.us

Rep. Nick Kahl  rep.nickkahl@state.or.us

Rep. Nancy Nathanson rep.nancynathanson@state.or.us

Rep. Greg Smith  rep.gregsmith@state.or.us