HJR 13 Proposes amendment to Oregon Constitution providing that law authorizing police officer to ask person if person is in possession of firearm is not law violating right of people against unreasonable search or seizure.
HB 2030 Prohibits state agency from restricting or closing access to state lands used for hunting until state agency has notified State Department of Fish and Wildlife and department has posted notice of restriction or closure for at least 30 days on department’s website. Provides exceptions.
HB 2126 Repeals requirement that person engaged in business of selling, leasing or otherwise transferring firearms record in register purchase or acceptance in trade of used firearm and provide copy of record to law enforcement agency.
HB 2127 Directs Department of Justice to create and maintain list of states that recognize Oregon concealed handgun licenses and require handgun competency to obtain concealed handgun license that is similar to competency required in Oregon.Authorizes Attorney General to enter into agreement with concealed handgun license issuing authority of other state if agreement is necessary for license reciprocity.Provides person who is not resident of Oregon, who is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearm and who is licensed to carry concealed handgun in another state with protections provided to person with Oregon concealed handgun license, if other state is on department’s list of states
HB 2130 Creates crime of endangering a minor by allowing access to a firearm. Punishes by maximum of 30 days’ imprisonment, $1,250 fine, or both. Increases penalty to maximum of six months’ imprisonment, $2,500 fine, or both, or one year’s imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both, depending on location at which firearm is possessed. Increases penalty to maximum of five years’ imprisonment, $125,000 fine, or both, if any person is seriously injured or killed. Requires gun dealer to post notice concerning obligation to prevent minors from accessing firearm without consent of minor’s parent or guardian. Prohibits transfer of firearm to person convicted of endangering a minor by allowing access to a firearm for five-year period after conviction.
HB 2172 Requires person that engages in business in this state, on premises onto which person permits members of public to enter, to post in prominent location outside entry to premises sign that states person’s policy with respect to permitting individuals who have license to carry concealed handgun to carry firearm onto premises.
HB 2173 Allows person harmed by criminal act resulting in physical injury or death to bring action for damages against place of public accommodation if place of public accommodation prohibits visitors from possessing firearm.
HB 2237 (Kate Brown’s Indefinite Delay Bill)Prohibits transfer of firearm by gun dealer or private party if Department of State Police is unable to determine whether recipient is qualified to receive firearm. Modifies definition of relationship status pertaining to types of court orders and misdemeanor convictions that cause person to be prohibited from possessing firearms. Provides that conviction for stalking causes person to be prohibited from possessing firearm unless person obtains relief from prohibition. Punishes unlawful possession by maximum of one year’s imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.
HB 2523 Authorizes gun dealer to accept for safekeeping firearm surrendered by person or family or household member of person who is at risk of causing physical injury to self or others with firearm. Provides civil and criminal immunity to gun dealer who accepts firearm for safekeeping.(Pointless)
HB 2526 Directs Department of Justice to establish firearm safety and suicide prevention education program, to create or approve educational materials and to provide educational materials to gun dealers.Requires gun dealers to make educational materials available to firearm purchasers. (Stupid)
HB 2592 Establishes refundable credit against personal income taxes for purchase of qualifying gun safes. Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, and before January 1, 2019.
HB 2617 Modifies requirements for and disqualifications from obtaining concealed handgun license. Increases portion of fee for issuance or renewal of license from $50 to $85.Increases length of time that concealed handgun license is valid.
HB 2808 Directs Department of State Police to study reasons for certain denials of concealed handgun license applications and report results to interim committees of Legislative Assembly related to judiciary on or before February 1, 2019
HB 2840 Creates credit against personal income tax for cost of criminal history record check required by state law for transfer of firearm.
HB 2973 Repeals requirement that person who is not gun dealer obtain criminal background check prior to transferring firearm to another person who is not gun dealer.
HB 2974 Exempts certain transferees from private firearm transfer criminal background check requirement.
HB 3107 Authorizes elected official to possess firearm in building housing court facility if elected official performs official duties within building and is licensed to carry concealed handgun.
HB 3108 Requires employer of parole and probation officer to authorize officer to carry firearm if officer meets certain requirements. Exempts parole and probation officer from prohibition on carrying firearm in public building.
HB 3212 Vests sole authority to regulate hunting ammunition and fishing gear with Legislative Assembly with specified exceptions. Prohibits public bodies from regulating hunting ammunition, fishing gear and angling equipment unless authorized by statute. Applies to prohibitions, restrictions and regulations adopted by public bodies before, on and after effective date of Act.
HB 3271 Prohibits state agency from establishing rule or policy regulating, restricting or prohibiting firearms.
HB 3281 Authorizes state agency employee who is licensed to carry concealed handgun to store personal handgun and ammunition in locked container in vehicle while employee is at work and vehicle is parked in state agency parking lot.
HB 3287 Prohibits state agency from adopting administrative rule or enacting or enforcing employment or personnel policy limiting or prohibiting possession of firearm by concealed handgun licensee.
HB 3306 Prohibits state agency from adopting administrative rule limiting or prohibiting possession of firearm by concealed handgun licensee who is respondent of or protected by active protective order.
HB 3460 Directs Oregon Health Authority to establish firearm safety and suicide prevention education program consisting of creation or approval of specified educational materials and provision of materials to gun dealers. Provides that gun dealers may make educational materials available to firearm purchasers.
SB 66 Requires court to notify person found guilty except for insanity of sex crime of obligation to report as sex offender.Requires court to notify person found to be person with mental illness when state or federal law prohibits person from purchasing or possessing firearm unless person obtains relief from prohibition. Requires court to notify person determined to lack fitness to proceed that federal law prohibits person from purchasing or possessing firearm unless person obtains relief from prohibition.
SB 232 Requires court to ask petitioner at hearing for family or household abuse restraining order whether respondent possesses any firearms and to record answer on order. Directs presiding judge of judicial district to adopt protocols relating to surrender of firearms by persons prohibited by court order from possessing firearms.
SB 458 Requires State Fish and Wildlife Commission to adopt controlled hunt program for hunting cougars with dogs.
SB 469 Requires gun dealer to substitute alternative fingerprint for criminal background check if firearm purchaser is unable to provide thumbprint.
SB 495 Authorizes county to regulate purchase of used firearms by pawnshops and secondhand stores
SB 546 Exempts transferee who is certified participant in Address Confidentiality Program from private firearm transfer criminal background check requirement.
SB 548 Authorizes sheriff of county to issue concealed handgun license to any qualified person who is resident of Oregon.
SB 549 Modifies certain law enforcement defenses that apply to certain firearms-related crimes. Provides honorably retired parole and probation officers with protections provided to Oregon concealed handgun license holders if officers do not have disqualifying convictions.
SB 552 Provides person licensed to carry concealed handgun in another state with protection provided to person with Oregon concealed handgun license.
SB 553 Removes Department of State Police as designated state point of contact for purposes of National Instant Criminal Background Check System. Requires gun dealer to obtain authorization to transfer firearm directly from system.
SB 554 Increases penalties for felonies having as element defendant’s use or threatened use of firearm in commission of crime. Punishes by mandatory minimum term of 10 years’ imprisonment for first offense. Prohibits plea agreement to crime other than felony having as element defendant’s use or threatened use of firearm. (This is a very, very bad idea in a state that convicts people of felonies for defending themselves.)
SB 655 Directs Department of State Police to create and maintain list of states in which requirements to obtain concealed handgun license or permit are substantially similar to requirements in Oregon.
SB 667 Defines term “antique firearm.” Provides that unlicensed person transferring antique firearm to another unlicensed person is not required to request criminal background check.
SB 668 Changes location in which person may petition circuit court for review of concealed handgun license denial, revocation or nonrenewal from county of person’s residence to county in which license was denied or originally issued.
SB 669 Exempts certain transferors of firearms from requesting criminal background check if purchaser or recipient has concealed handgun license.
SB 670 Reduces required age for concealed handgun license applicant to 18 years of age if applicant is servicemember.
SB 675 Allows person to carry concealed firearm on person or in vehicle if person can legally possess firearms under Oregon law and meets certain criteria.
SB 679 Prohibits governmental agency or school district from establishing policy regulating, restricting or prohibiting firearms.
SB 681 Exempts federal and state military personnel from laws establishing crime of unlawful possession of firearm when engaged in official functions on military property.
SB 719A This is the Boquist/Burdick gun theft bill that started life as SB868.
SB 764 Directs Department of State Police to study reasons for certain denials of concealed handgun license applications.
SB 775 Exempts concealed handgun licensees from private firearm transfer criminal background check requirement.
SB 797 Prohibits transfer of firearm by gun dealer or private party if Department of State Police is unable to determine whether recipient is qualified to receive firearm. (and lots more)
SB 804 Modifies definition of “transfer” for purposes of private firearm transfer criminal background check requirement.
SB 854 Exempts certain transferees from private firearm transfer criminal background check requirement
SB 855 Allows person without concealed handgun license to carry concealed firearm on person or in vehicle in certain circumstances if person can legally possess firearms under Oregon law.
SB 862 Requires law enforcement agency that takes custody of firearms under firearms surrender protocol to establish procedures to notify certain individuals of law enforcement agency’s anticipated return of firearm.
SB 868 Creates process for obtaining extreme risk protection order prohibiting person from possessing firearms when court finds that person presents imminent risk, or risk in foreseeable future, of suicide or causing injury to other persons.
SB 897 Creates crime of militia terrorism. Punishes by maximum of five years’ imprisonment, $125,000 fine, or both.
SB 902 Authorizes local law enforcement authority to issue written waiver, within authority’s jurisdiction, of requirement that person engaged in business of selling, leasing or otherwise transferring firearm provide duplicate sheet of register of transfer of used firearm to local law enforcement authority. Requires person to retain copy of waiver. Authorizes local law enforcement authority to accept copy of firearms transaction record form in lieu of duplicate sheet of register.
SB 903 Requires gun dealer to substitute alternative fingerprint for criminal background check if firearm purchaser is unable to provide thumbprint. Authorizes Department of State Police to accept requests and provide results for firearm transfer criminal background checks electronically. Authorizes department to accept transaction record form issued by federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives that includes thumbprint in lieu of firearms transaction thumbprint form.
SB 905 Abolishes Oregon State Police Dignitary Protection Unit. Prohibits state offices or employees from providing personal security and safety services to Governor. Permits law enforcement to respond to specific incidents involving Governor. Declares emergency, effective on passage.
SB 920 Provides person with privileges and legal defenses available to person with Oregon concealed handgun license if person is licensed to carry concealed handgun in another state that recognizes Oregon concealed handgun licenses.
SB 923 Allows person to carry concealed firearm on person or in vehicle if person can legally possess firearms under Oregon law and person is protected by court order and has pending application for, or appointment to submit application for, concealed handgun license.
SB 1026 Creates crime of endangering a minor by allowing access to a firearm.
SB 1065 This bill does too many bad things to summarize here. It is a combination of several previously failed anti-gun bills.